Why Do I Study Games?

Prior to taking my Mass Communications course focusing on video games, I really did not think much about them. I would occasionally play video games if the opportunity presented itself, but I would never go out of my way to play. Games play a big role in many peoples lives, whether it’s something they do to relieve stress or if it’s their hobby and they’re intense gamers. Although I may not be an avid game player and know an extreme amount about the games, I still was intrigued to take this class. Anytime I’m in a class that I don’t have any knowledge about the subject, I am excited to learn more about it.

I am interested in studying games because there are so many different aspects. I could study how the video game is made, why the video game is made, how the ideas come about to create the game, the rules, the possibilities are endless.

One of the main reasons I want to study video games is because of the controversy they can cause. As we talked about in class, there can be a lot of controversy behind many of the shooting games. I think this is a very interesting topic. I can see both sides of the argument. With all of the tragedies with the shootings, I can see why people would argue that violent video games can ‘influence’ actions. But also, the blame for all of these tragedies cannot be put on the violence in video games.

During this class, I hope to widen my knowledge about video games and the effect they have. So far, I have enjoyed all that we have learned and it has made me really think about video games and their effect on the community.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

